Rhetorical Reflection of The Lion King and The Old Testament

I had to write this composition for my Introduction to the Old Testament class. The assignment said that we had to pick a movie and explain how it related to a story in The Old Testament. The professor gave us some movies that we could use and most of them were animated movies about a story Old Testament. The professor said that we had to email him if we wanted to use any other movies other than the ones on the list. I thought that this project could be really cool and interesting if I thought outside the box and used a movie that no one else would think of. I did some research (I was watching Disney plus) and I realized that I could compare The Lion King to the stories of Joseph and the coat of many colors and Moses and the ten plagues. I then had to email my professor and try and convince him to let me use this movie. The official definition of rhetoric is the art of persuasive speaking or writing, so this email is where the rhetoric really begins. The email was my genre, I was the rhetor, and my professor was my audience. I used Logos to try to convince him by briefly describing to him how the movie related to these stories. He did end up saying yes and said he thought it was a great idea. So, in writing the paper I used many different rhetorical devises. Once again, I was the rhetor and my professor was the audience. The paper was the genre and I used logos to explain how the movie was related and connected to the stories in the Old Testament. The exigence of this paper was to affectively show my professor that there are in fact connections between The Lion King and the stories of Joseph and Moses in the Bible. The paper did have one constraint though; It was comparing an animated Disney movie from 1994, to true events that happened thousands of years ago.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started